What is the Parole Board

The Parole Board is an independent statutory body, first established in 1969.

The role of the board is to assess risk and determine whether to grant, deny, breach or cancel parole, and to set appropriate conditions for parole release. The board reviews the progress and performance of parolees.


Membership of the Parole Board is defined by law. It comprises nine members who are appointed by the Governor of South Australia.

The Presiding Member (Chairperson) is required to be a Judge (current or retired) of the Supreme Court or District Court, or a person who has extensive knowledge of, and experience in, the science of criminology, penology or any related science.

The current Presiding Member is Frances Nelson QC who has been in the position since 1983.

The board has a permanent meeting room in the Adelaide CBD. This facility has adjacent holding cells to accommodate prisoners awaiting a hearing before the board. The Parole Board Secretariat provides administrative support to the board and is located in the same building.

The Parole Board works closely and collaboratively with Offenders Aid and Rehabilitation Services of South Australia (OARS), Aboriginal Prisoners and Offenders Support Services (APOSS), the Exceptional Needs Unit and the Forensic Mental Health Service, as well as South Australia Police.

The board also receives assistance from non-government agencies including Anglicare, the Salvation Army and Second Chances SA, who assist with finding appropriate accommodation for offenders with a level of supervision and support.