Parole Board membership

Parole Board members are appointed by the Governor in Executive Council for a term of up to three years and may be eligible for reappointment.

The board comprises eleven members and two deputy members. All members of the board are appointed in a part-time capacity.

The membership of the board is defined by law:

  • The Presiding Member (Chairperson) is required to be either a judge of the Supreme Court or District Court, or a person who has extensive knowledge of, and experience in, the science of criminology, penology or any related science
  • Two members are appointed as Deputy Presiding Member
  • One member must be a qualified medical practitioner with extensive knowledge of, and experience in, psychiatry
  • One member must be a qualified social worker or sociologist
  • One member must have extensive knowledge and experience in matters related to the impact of crime on victims and the needs of victims of crime
  • One member must be a person of Aboriginal descent
  • One member must be a former Police Officer.

There are two additional deputy (occasional) members appointed to replace a member who is unable to attend a board meeting.

Members as at November 2021

Ms Frances Nelson QC – Presiding Member – Barrister

Mr William (Bill) Boucaut QC – Deputy Presiding Member – Barrister

Mr Nick Floreani – Deputy Presiding Member – Barrister

Dr Maria Naso – Member – Psychiatrist

Ms Nora Bloor – Member – Social Worker

Ms Katherine McLachlan – Member – Victim representative

Mr Denis Edmonds – Member – Retired Police Officer

Mr Garth Dodd – Member – Aboriginal member

Ms Susan MacDonald – Community Member – Social Worker

Mr Kevin Hill – Member – Retired Parole Board Secretary

Mr Andrew Kyprianou – Member – Retired Social Worker

Ms Vanessa Swan – Deputy Member

Mr Trevor Lovegrove – Deputy Member